Vishnu-Mandala by Lok Chitrakar
Hover mouse cursor over image to view detail

Art detail

Code: #LC5
By Lok Chitrakar
Price: on enquiry
Size: 25.00 x 27.00 in
Material: Canvas
Medium: Stone color
Shipping Mode: rolled
In Stock: Not Available
Enquiry about artwork


Description about Vishnu Mandala

 Originally, this mandala painting was made in the year N.S. 540 or (1420 AD) by the artist Tej Ram. The earliest one is now in private collection in New York. Lok Chitrakar made this replica, who tried his level best to maintain the flow of original one. The centre of mandala is dominated by four armed while colored Vishnu, seated on the coils of green Naga in yogasana posture. The seven headed hoods of shesh naga provide the Vishnu with halo. His form is heavily encrusted with jewelleries and tilak is marked on the forehead. The hands hold the four usual attributes the conch, the lotus, the disc, and the mace. Green colored Laxmi is seated to his right holds two Nilopata(Blue lotuses) along with the stalks; on the disc of the lotus there is Sinhamhu(Vermillion container) and that on her left a Jwalanhayakan(metallic mirror). Garuda is painted in pinkish red and he is the Namaskaramudra kneeling down to the left side of the God Vishnu.

 This central trio is surrounded by twelve couples of Laxminarayana emanation, each couple being represented within lotus petal. The male God stands in Samapada Sthanaka, posture, each is given the four emblems but in varying combinations and a different color, although only four colors are used - yellow, blue, green and white. The female companion is identically delineated in all the twelve instances expect for their - complexion. The right hand of each hangs down loosely while the left displays the vyakhyana mudra.

 The twelve lotus petal mandala s adorned by twelve representatives sub-vyuha or Vishnu. Personifying twelve solar zodiac and month. Panch ratra Samhita refers to each vyuha emanates or descends (Avatirnah) three sub-vyuhas or vyuhantaras. These are
1. From Vasudeva; Keshava, Narayana, and Madhavar
2. From Sankarshana; Govinda, Vishnu and Madhusudana
3. From Pradhyumna
4. From Anirudhha; Rishikesa, Padmanabha and Damodara.

 The female obviously are their Saktis and the Satvatasamhita enumerates twelve of them but the Tantrasara, however, prescribes twenty four Saktis of the emanations and they are all given the same form.

 Among the remaining figures of the mandala, the eight portrayed in pairs in the four corners along the edge of the circle and seated on their respective mounts are the Dikpalas. They are situated on the East is painted on the top right corner is situated white elephant mounted by Indra the eastern guardian. Indra is accompanied yellow corner Agni mounted on the goat the lord of South - East corner. The Lord Yama is painted blue and placed at bottom right corner with his mount water buffalo. Yama is associated with the Nairitti the lord of South-West corner on the blue colored Bhu-pura with the mount of Human body. Likewise, Varuna the lord of west is shown mounted on snake, and vayu the wind god is painted on green color, mounting on the antelope is the lord of North-West. The lord of North direction is a wealthy Kubera mounted on green horse and the lord of North-East Ishan is shown on the white complexion riding on the bull- along the North-East corner, representing the celestial world and Vishnu himself at the just opposite south-west corner, symbolizing the inner world or waterland(Rasatala). The four gates of mandala Prakara are guarded by four pairs of pratihars or dvarapalas. In Rupamandala iconographic text, eight pratiharas of Vishnu are described. They should be represented as pairs, the tow in the east being Danda, and Pracanda, the two at the West-Dhata and Vidhata, the two in the south Jaya and Vijaya and remaining pair guarding the northern gate, are Bhadra and Subhadra. They are given different attributes and in general rule they should be dwarf in appearance (Vamanakara rupaste). In fact they are picturised dwarf shaped and pot bellied and they stand in Pratyalidha posture as befitting their role in the mandala. Outside of the mandala, on the top side these are seven representations of the Gods which are the symbolic forms of the days. The above mentioned gods can be explained in the Panchayana order also. The top side of the Mandala can be depicted as the Torana of the Mandala. The Gods of Torana from left are the Sun, Ganesh, (symbolizing the planet Mars), Siva-Parvati, (representing the nature of Saturn) Brahma-Saraswoti, (personifications of the planet Jupiter), Vishnu-Laxmi, (adorning the conception of Mercury), Kumar (replacing the character of Venus), and Chandra (Moon) at the end. These seven Gods some are accompanied by Saktis, refers the Hindu anthropomorphic manifestations of the whole-weekend in the iconiform. Gods depicted on the Torana or on the top of the mandala. These Gods are Sun and the Moon presided over each corner and the Ganesh, Shiva-Parvati, Brahma-Saraswoti, Vishnu-Laxmi and the Kumar is depicted as the lord of seven respective days. Along the bottom are represented scenes of abhisekha and homa, as well as portraits of the donor and his family.


Note: Please note that the actual colors of the Painting may vary due to differences in monitor color depth and make. The color shown is as close as possible to the actual colors of the Painting.

Comment on this art work and a chance to win paintings/sculptures.
Name Location
Yes, I am a human

Product Enquiry...

Sending your enquiry. Please wait...

Thanks for sending your equiry! We'll get back to you shortly.

There was a problem sending your equiry. Please try again.

Please complete all the fields in the form before sending.

Lok Chitrakar
Date of Birth : 1961-03-25

 View Lok 's works